Personal Injury Must-Knows for Motorcycle Riders in California
California is home to the most motorcycle riders in the country. While traveling on the roads of California can be an exhilarating experience, riders should be conscious of the risks of accidents and follow all the safety rules. If you suffer injuries in a bike accident, you should speak to a California motorcycle accident attorney as soon as possible for legal advice. This article will cover some of the essential pieces of information you must know if you are going to ride a motorcycle in California.
Lane Splitting Law in California
For motorcycle riders, California is a unique state because of its lane splitting law. Lane splitting is when you ride a bike between traffic lanes to pass slower-moving traffic. In a strict sense, lane splitting is not illegal, but it can be risky for motorcycle riders. If you are in an accident while splitting lanes, you will need a knowledgeable motorcycle accident lawyer in California to represent you.
However, there is new legislation regulating lane splitting. The new laws recommend motorcyclists not exceed 10 mph more than the adjacent traffic when performing the maneuver. The DMV warns motorcyclists against the practice of lane splitting entirely. Unsafe lane splitting can get you a ticket in California.
Other Laws in California for Motorcyclists
California requires all motorcyclists to wear helmets while they are riding. The helmet must have a certification from the Department of Transportation (DOT). Also, the exhaust system on your motorcycle, model years 2011 and beyond, should be EPA compliant. If you are below 21 years of age, you need to complete the Basic Rider Course before the DMV grants you a motorcycle instruction permit. The DMV also encourages motorcycle applicants above the age of 21 to take a rider course, but it is not mandatory.
Laws Related to Your Ability To Ride
Various laws dictate who can ride a motorcycle in California, including:
- You must be at least 16 years of age to obtain a motorcycle operator’s license.
- You must complete an approved rider education course if under 21.
- You need a valid automobile driver’s license.
- Motorcyclists with an instruction permit may not ride on a freeway, after dark, or carry passengers.
- Motorcyclists below the age of 18 should obtain written permission from their parent or legal guardian before they can ride.
If you violate any of these motorcycle laws in California, it could result in penalties or even criminal charges. Speak to an experienced Beverly Hills motorcycle accident attorney if you are unclear on these laws or if you experience any personal injuries in an accident while riding your bike.
California Insurance Laws for Bike Riders
In California, riding a motorcycle without valid insurance coverage is illegal. Motorcycle riders need personal injury and death coverage of at least $15,000 and property damage coverage of at least $5,000. Failure to carry minimum insurance has consequences, and you will be at a severe disadvantage if you receive injuries as an uninsured rider. If this situation occurs, you may not be able to recover all your rightful damages. Your best move in the event of a motorcycle accident or injury is to retain the services of a competent accident attorney in California.
Hire a Beverly Hills Personal Injury Attorney
If you are the victim of injuries in a motorcycle incident, you need to enlist the services of an experienced and professional motorcycle attorney. At the Law Offices of Jeffrey Fleitman, we fight tooth and nail to achieve the best outcomes possible for our clients, and we’ll do the same for you. Call us today at 310-399-2889 or fill out our online contact form for a free consultation.