Five Important Facts About California Personal Injury Law
California personal injury law provides the legal framework related to civil liability of the at-fault party that causes injuries to another person due to their reckless, careless, or intentional acts.
If you or someone you love has suffered personal injuries due to another’s fault, you must understand your rights. Get in touch with an experienced California motorcycle accident attorney or a California personal injury attorney to evaluate your claim against the at-fault party.
Motor Vehicle Accidents – All Drivers Must Be Insured
Every automobile owner in California is required by law to have liability insurance coverage of the following minimum amounts: $15,000 per injured person; $30,000 for two or more injured persons; and $5,000 for property damage.
California follows a no-fault system of insurance, which means that every owner of an automobile is responsible and liable for the personal injury, death, or property damage that may have occurred due to their negligence or wrongful action up to the limits specified above.
If you are a personal injury victim, you can recover both economic and non-economic compensatory damages in California, such as your medical costs, loss of income, and pain and suffering. If the at-fault party was reckless, driving drunk, or caused an intentional accident, you may also be able to recover punitive damages.
Discuss with a reputable accident attorney in California or a Beverly Hills motorcycle accident attorney about the type of damages you may be able to recover for your injuries.
Injury Occurring Due to a Defective Product
Strict liability laws in California ensure that as a victim of a defective product, you can hold the at-fault parties strictly liable for your injuries – even if you cannot prove that the defendant party committed any negligence. Strict liability applies in California to injuries resulting from manufacturing defects, design defects or warning defects related to a product.
Injuries Occurring on Another’s Premises
Property owners or those having managerial control of a premises, such as stores, restaurants, and other public and private spaces, can be held liable if your injuries occur on that premises due to the property owner’s negligence. Premises liability claims in California typically include slip and fall injuries, construction site accidents, and dog bites.
Personal Injury Law – Statute of Limitations
The statute of limitations for most types of personal injury claims in California is two years. It effectively means that you have two years to file a lawsuit against the at-fault party from the date of your accident. If you plan to file a claim against a government entity, you only get six months to do so after your injury.
It is best to speak to a Beverly Hills motorcycle accident attorney or a personal injury lawyer as soon as possible after your injury so that time is on your side to build a robust case for damages.
The Rule of Pure Comparative Negligence
If you are partly at fault for your own accident and injuries, you can still hold the other party liable for their share of the fault and obtain compensation. The doctrine of pure comparative negligence will apply in these situations in California. Under this rule, your compensation amount will be reduced by an amount equivalent to your percentage of fault for your injuries.
Let the Experienced California Personal Injury Lawyers From Fleitman Law Fight for You
Attorney Jeffrey Fleitman and his legal team pride themselves on being straight-shooters: direct, honest, and personable with each and every client. All of the cases are handled by lawyers from start to finish. Call us at (310) 399-2889 or fill out our online contact form for a free consultation today.